BooksIn-Text CitationMagazinesMultimediaNewspapersOnline DatabasesScholarly Journal ArticlesWeb Sites
BooksIn-Text CitationMagazinesNewspapersScholarly Journal ArticleWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

MLA & APA Citation Guide 

A citation guide based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.)
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.pstcc.edu/mla  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Magazines             Print Page
  
 

Essential Elements

Magazine article citations should include the following:

1. Name of Author (if available)

2. Title of Article (in quotations)

3. Title of Magazine (italicized)

4. Date of Pubication

5. Page Number of Article (if available)

6. Medium of Publication

 

Note: Articles accessed through databases and on the Web require additional information. See the examples to the right for details.

 

NoodleTools

Check out NoodleTools to help you perform smart research.

NoodleTools can assist you in the following ways:

  1. Search intelligently
  2. Assess the quality of results
  3. Record, organize and synthesize information using online notecards
  4. Format a bibliography in MLA or APA style
 
 

Sample Citations - Magazine Articles

Print Magazine Article

If an author is listed, begin with the name of the author. If no author is listed, begin with the title of the article.

Example:

Whelan, Debra Lau. "Facebook Book Clubs." School Library Journal 1 June 2009: 16. Print.

 


Magazine Article in an Online Database

Cite the article as you would a print article, followed by the database in which you accessed the article, the medium of publication (Web), and the date of access.

Example:

Klein, Joe. “The American Myth.” Time 22 Sep. 2008, US ed.: 32. LexisNexis Academic. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.

 

*See Online Databases section for more information.

 


Magazine Article, Published Online (Not Accessed Through a Database)

If you are citing an article published online which you have not accessed through a database, treat it as any other Web site.

Example:

Gladwell, Malcolm. “The Courthouse Ring: Atticus Finch and the Limits of Southern Liberalism.” The New Yorker.

          The New Yorker, 10 Aug. 2009. Web. 31 Aug. 2009.

 

*See Web Sites section for more information.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait