BooksIn-Text CitationMagazinesMultimediaNewspapersOnline DatabasesScholarly Journal ArticlesWeb Sites
BooksIn-Text CitationMagazinesNewspapersScholarly Journal ArticleWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

MLA & APA Citation Guide 

A citation guide based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.)
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.pstcc.edu/mla  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Multimedia             Print Page
  
 

NoodleTools

Check out NoodleTools to help you perform smart research.

NoodleTools can assist you in the following ways:

  1. Search intelligently
  2. Assess the quality of results
  3. Record, organize and synthesize information using online notecards
  4. Format a bibliography in MLA or APA style
 

MLA Handbook

Need More Info?

See the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition, for detailed information about citing television broadcasts, sound recordings, live performances, maps, CD-ROMs, etc.

 
 

Film or DVD

Film or DVD

Essential Elements:

  • Title of film
  • Director's name
  • Primary actors/performers
  • Year of orginal release
  • Distributor
  • Year of current release
  • Format (DVD, VHS, etc.)

Example:

Glory. Dir. Edward Zwick. Perf. Matthew Broderick, Denzel Washington, Morgan Freeman, Cary Elwes. 1989. Columbia TriStar

         Home Entertainment, 2005. DVD.

 

Image or Photograph

Image, Photograph, and other Visual Art

Essential Elements:

  • Name of artist (if available)
  • Title of work (italicized)
  • Date of composition (if unavailable, use "n.d.")
  • Medium of composition
  • Name of institution, repository, or collection that houses the work
  • Location of housing institution (City)

If accessed online, include the following information as well:

  • Title of Database (italicized)
  • Medium of publication (Web)
  • Date of access

Example (Print):

Warhol, Andy. Photobooth Self-Portrait. ca. 1963. Photograph. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.

 

Example (Accessed Through a Database):

Poussin, Nicolas. Dance to the Music of Time. 1638-40. Oil on canvas. Wallace Collection, London. ARTstor. Web. 8 Sep. 2009.

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait