BooksIn-Text CitationMagazinesMultimediaNewspapersOnline DatabasesScholarly Journal ArticlesWeb Sites
BooksIn-Text CitationMagazinesNewspapersScholarly Journal ArticleWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

MLA & APA Citation Guide 

A citation guide based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.)
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.pstcc.edu/mla  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Newspapers             Print Page
  
 

Essential Elements

Citations from newspaper articles should include the following:

1. Name of Author (if available)

2. Title of Article (in quotations)

3. Title of Newspaper (italicized)

4. Date of Publication

5. Edition of Paper (if available)

6. Section of Paper (if available)

7. Page Number

8. Medium of Publication

 

Note: Additional information is required if citing from a Web or database resource. See the examples to the right or consult the MLA Handbook, 7th ed.

 

 

NoodleTools

Check out NoodleTools to help you perform smart research.

NoodleTools can assist you in the following ways:

  1. Search intelligently
  2. Assess the quality of results
  3. Record, organize and synthesize information using online notecards
  4. Format a bibliography in MLA or APA style
 
 

Sample Citation - Newspaper Articles

Print Newspaper Article

Because newspaper articles often don’t appear on consecutive pages, cite the section and page number where the article begins. If the article continues onto additional pages, note this by placing a + sign after the page number.

Example (Signed Article):

Ahrens, Frank. "Washington Post Co. Returns to Profit with Cost Cutting." Washington Post 1 Aug. 2009,

         Suburban ed.: A11+. Print.

 

Example (Unsigned Article):

If the article is unsigned, begin with the title of the article. Omit "A," " An,"  or "The "if the title begins this way.

"Travel in Brief." Knoxville News Sentinel 30 Aug. 2009, Life sec.: 62. Print.

 

 


News Article Accessed Through an Online Database

Cite the article as you would a print article, followed by the database in which you accessed the article, the medium of publication (Web), and the date of access.

Example:

Henry, Reg. “Tweeting Our Way to Our Own Demise.” Knoxville News Sentinel 23 Mar. 2009, Local sec.: 11.

         NewsBank. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.

 

* See Online Databases section for more information.

 

 


News Article Published Online (Not Accessed Through a Database)

If you are citing an article published online which you have not accessed through a database, treat it as you would any other website.

Example:

Kavanagh, Jim. “Tiny Librarian Is Hell on Wheels.” CNN.com. Cable News Network, 31 Aug. 2009. Web.

         31 Aug. 2009.

 

*See Web Sites section for more information.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait