Essential Elements
The materials in most online supscription databases include publication information from a previously published print version of the source. Therefore, you should format your citation as you would the print version of your source, followed by:
1. Name of the Database (italiczed)
2. Medium of Publicatoin (Web)
3. Date of Access
NoodleTools
Check out NoodleTools to help you perform smart research.
NoodleTools can assist you in the following ways:
- Search intelligently
- Assess the quality of results
- Record, organize and synthesize information using online notecards
- Format a bibliography in MLA or APA style
Sample Citations - Online Databases
When citing sources from a database, the type of resource (newspaper, magazine, journal, etc.) will determine the citation format, not the database itself. Be sure to follow an example that illustrates that same type of resource that you have used.
Scholarly Article in an Online Database
Cite the article as you would a print source, followed by:
- Name of the database (italicized)
- Medium of publication (Web)
- Date of Access
Example:
Beckhard, Sven. "From Tuskegee to Togo: The Problem of Freedom in the Empire of Cotton." Journal of American History
92.2 (2005): 498-526. JSTOR. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
*See Scholarly Articles section form more information.
Newspaper Article in an Online Database
Cite the article as you would a print source, followed by:
- Name of the database (italicized)
- Medium of publication (Web)
- Date of Access
Example:
Henry, Reg. "Tweeting Our Way to Our Own Demise." Knoxville News Sentinal 23 Mar. 2009, Local sec: 11. NewsBank.
Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
*See Newspapers section for more information.
Magazine Article in an Online Database
Cite the article as you would a print source, followed by:
- Name of the database (italicized)
- Medium of publication (Web)
- Date of Access
Example:
Klein, Joe. "The American Myth." Time 22 Sep. 2008, US ed.: 32. LexisNexis Academic. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
*See Magazines section for more information
E-Book
Example:
Mauzé, Marie, Michael Eugene Harkin, and Sergei Kan, eds. Coming to Shore: Northwest Coast Ethnology, Traditions,
and Visions. Lincoln, NE: U of Nebraska P, 2004. NetLibrary. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
*See Books section for more information.
Examples from Library Databases
Note: When citing sources from a database, the type of resource will determine the citation format, not the database itself. The examples below illustrate different kinds of resources (news, magazine, & journal) from PSTCC's databases. Be sure to follow an example that illustrates that same type of resource that you have used, or refer to the general examples above.
Academic OneFile
Example (Scholarly Journal):
Phillips, Gervase. “Warhorses of the U.S. Civil War.” History Today 55.12 (2005): 10-17. Academic OneFile.
Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
DISCovering Collection
Example (Scholarly Journal):
Stoicheff, Peter. "Something Uncanny: The Dream Structure in Ambrose Bierce's 'An Occurance at Owl Creek
Bridge." Studies in Short Fiction 30.3 (1993): 349-357. DISCovering Collection. Web. 17 Sep. 2009.
LexisNexis
Example (Newspaper):
Rush, Danielle. “Western Pupils Engage in Mock Civil War Battle.” Kokomo Tribune 26 May 2007: n. pag. LexisNexis
Academic. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
Literature Resource Center Example (Magazine): Chenoweth, Emily. "Father Knows Best: In Which Leonard Wolf Teaches His Daughter a Thing or Two About Writing,
Passion, and Poetry." Publishers Weekley 21 Mar 2005: 22-23. Literature Resource Center. Web. 17 Sep. 2009.
Example (E-Book):
Brown, Pearl L. "Awakened Men in Kate Chopin's Creole Stories." Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Ed. Janet Witalec. Detroit: Gale, 2002. 69-82. Literature Resource Center. Web. 17 Sep. 2009.
MagillOnLiterature Plus
Example (E-Book):
May, Charles E. "Chickamauga." Masterplots II: Short Stories Series. Ed. Frank N. Magill. Englewood Cliffs, NJ:
Salem Press, 2004. N. pag. MagillOnLiterature Plus. Web. 17 Sep. 2009.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Example (E-Book):
Beatty, Bess. “Reconstruction.” Civil Rights in the United States. Ed. Waldo E. Martin, Jr., and Patricia Sullivan.
New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000. N. pag. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
ProQuest Curriculum Essentials
Example (Scholarly Article):
Cronin, Mary M. “’Dear Swinton’: New York Times Correspondents’ Confidential Letters From the Front Lines, 1864-65.”
Journalism History 32.4 (2007): 213-222. ProQuest Curriculum Essentials. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
SIRS Knowledge Source
Example (Magazine):
Center, Christopher L. “Gettysburg: Reconnaissance Then and Now.” Armor May-June 2005: 7-11. SIRS Knowledge
Source. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
Twayne's Author Series
Example (E-Book):
Miller, James E. Walt Whitman. New York: Twayne, 1962. Twayne's United States Authors Series Online. Web. 17 Sep. 2009.
Wilson OmniFile
Example (Scholarly Journal):
Durocher, Debra D. “Brother vs. Brother, Reporter on Horseback.” American Journalism Review 16 (1994): n. pag. Wilson
OmniFile. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait