Essential Elements
In general, a citation for information found on the Web should include the following:
- Author's name
- Title of work or Web page
- Title of the Web site (if different from the specific work)
- Version/edition used (if available)
- Publisher or group responsible for the site (if not available, use "N.p.")
- Date of publication (if not available, use "n.d.")
- Medium of publication (Web)
- Date of access
Note: MLA no longer requires a URL, but it may be included at the end of the citation if desired. Check with your instructor for preferences about including URLs.
NoodleTools
Check out NoodleTools to help you perform smart research.
NoodleTools can assist you in the following ways:
- Search intelligently
- Assess the quality of results
- Record, organize and synthesize information using online notecards
- Format a bibliography in MLA or APA style
Evaluating Web Sources
The library's Web Site Evaluation guide can help you determine the scholarly value of information on the Web.
Additional resources:
- Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages from Cornell University
- Evaluating Web Pages from UC Berkeley
Sample Citations - Web Sites
Page on a Web Site
In the example below, the title of the Web page ("Whitman the Fiction Writer") is enclosed in quotations, while the overall Web site (The Walt Whitman Archive) is italicized.
Example:
Folsom, Ed, and Kenneth M. Price, eds. "Whitman the Fiction Writer." The Walt Whitman Archive. Center for Digital Research in the
Humanities, U of Nebraska-Lincoln, n.d. Web. 31 Aug. 2009.
Web Page, No Stated Author
Begin your citation with the title of the page or article if no author is available.
Example:
"English Civil Wars." Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Encyclopaedia Britannica, 2009. Web. 31 Aug. 2009.
Entire Web Site
Include as much information as you can find in your citation.
- If no publisher is available, use the abbreviation "N.p."
- If no publication date is available, use the abbreviation "n.d."
Example:
American Memory Project. Library of Congress, n.d. Web. 31 Aug. 2009.
Newspaper Article Published Online (Not Accessed Through a Database)
If you are citing a periodical article published online which you have not accessed through a database, treat it as you would any other website.
Example:
Kavanagh, Jim. "Tiny Librarian Is Hell on Wheels." CNN.com. Cable News Network, 31 Aug. 2009. Web. 31 Aug. 2009.
Magazine Article Published Online (Not Accessed Through a Database)
If you are citing a periodical article published online which you have not accessed through a database, treat it as you would any other website.
Example:
Gladwell, Malcolm. "The Courthouse Ring: Atticus Finch and the Limits of Southern Liberalism." The New Yorker. The New Yorker,
10 Aug. 2009. Web. 31 Aug. 2009.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait