BooksIn-Text CitationMagazinesMultimediaNewspapersOnline DatabasesScholarly Journal ArticlesWeb Sites
BooksIn-Text CitationMagazinesNewspapersScholarly Journal ArticleWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

MLA & APA Citation Guide 

A citation guide based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.)
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.pstcc.edu/mla  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Magazines             Print Page
  
 

Essential Elements

Magazine citations should include the following information:

  • Author(s) Names
  • Publication Date
  • Title of Article
  • Title of Magazine
  • Volume Number of Magazine
  • Issue Number of Magazine
  • Page Numbers of Article

You may also need:

  • The URL address for the magazine
  • The DOI (if available)
 

Tips

- Include as much information about the publication date as available. For print magazines, this may be the month and year of publication. Magazine articles published online may include a full date.

- Capitalize only the first word of the article's title and subtitle. All other words should be in lowercase except for proper nouns.

- Do not use quotation marks around article titles.

- Italicize magazine titles. All main words in the magazine title should be capitalized.

- If your citation includes a DOI or URL, do not end the citation with a period.

 

NoodleTools

Check out NoodleTools to help you perform smart research.

NoodleTools can assist you in the following ways:

  1. Search intelligently
  2. Assess the quality of results
  3. Record, organize and synthesize information using online notecards
  4. Format a bibliography in MLA or APA style
 
 

Sample Citations - Magazines

Article in a Print Magazine

Example:  

Rodgers, J.E. (2009, January/Februrary). Guinea pig nation. Psychology Today, 42(1),

         84-91.

 


Magazine Article Accessed Online

APA does not distinguish between articles accessed through a database and articles accessed via the Web. The exact citation format will depend on whether the article has a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) available.

  • If the article information DOES includes a DOI (Digital Object Identifier), provide it at the end of the citation.
  • If the article information DOES NOT include a DOI, provide the URL of the magazine's home page (not the database in which you retrieved it). You may have to do a quick internet search to locate the URL for the journal home page.

Example:

Carscaddon, L., & Harris, C.S. (2009, June 15.) Working the social: Twitter and

         Friendfeed. Library Journal, 134(11), 24-26. Retrieved from

         http://www.libraryjournal.com

 

 

 

 

 
 

Digital Object Identifiers

What Is a Digital Object Identifier?

A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique set of numbers and letters that can be assigned to a particular article to help identify it. Unlike a URL or Web address, an article's DOI always remains the same. Each article has a unique DOI - think of it as a "digital thumbprint."

How are DOIs used in APA citations?

DOIs are used in APA citations to help scholars find cited articles more efficiently. Unlike URL links and Web addresses, which can break or change, a DOI provides a consistent way to look up a referenced article. If you have a DOI for your article, include it at the end of the citation.

Where can I find an article's DOI?

Not all articles are assigned DOIs yet, but if available, the DOI will usually be included with the rest of the electrontic citation information for your article. This may be on the first or last page of the article, or there may be a separate link to citation information. You can also check the CrossRef database to see if a DOI is available for your article.

More about DOIs

DOI Flowchart

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait