Use the Research Guide for step-by-step research help including suggested resources, search strategies, help using databases & the catalog, tips for analyzing resources, and links to citation resources.
Note: To save your citations for future use, you must create an individual (free) account in each of the citation programs listed below.
- EasyBib
EasyBib is an automatic bibliography and citation composer. When you have sources you need to cite properly for your research papers and projects, EasyBib will help you format your sources quickly and accurately.
- NoodleTools
Online application providing a step-by-step process for creating MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian style citations. Create an account and you may sign in from anywhere.
- Find Books & More
The online catalog includes books, eBooks, eAudiobooks, films, and more.
- Find Articles
A-Z list of databases, or use Databases by Subject tab to choose an appropriate resource.
- Subject Guides
Subject guides provide a great starting point for your research. Find suggested reference resources, databases, Web sites, and search strategies.
- NoodleTools
NoodleTools can help you organize research, synthesize information, and format a bibliography in MLA or APA style.
- MLA & APA Citation Guide
Guide to formatting manuscripts and bibliographies in MLA & APA styles.
- PSCC Academic Support Center
Free help from faculty and professional tutors in all subject areas.
The library has many books and ebooks available for additional research help. See the links below for a list in the online catalog.
Research Guides can help you through all stages of the research process:
- Beginning Research
Choosing a topic
Identifying keywords
- Resource Types
Selecting the best type of resource for your research
- Search Strategies
Basic and advanced searching in the library catalog and databases
Using Library of Congress call numbers to find library materials
- Analyzing Information Resources
Identifying quality sources
Scholarly vs. non-scholarly publications
- Citing Sources
When to cite
How to cite
Online citation tools
|
The following six steps outline a simple and effective strategy for finding information for a research paper, and documenting the sources you find. Depending on your topic and familiarity with the library, you will rearrange or repeat these steps. For some subjects, books may be sufficient; for others periodical articles will be best. Adapt this outline to your needs.
|
| State your topic as a question. For example, if you are interested in finding out about the use of alcoholic beverages by college students, you might pose the question, "What effect does the use of alcoholic beverages have on the health of college students?" Identify the main concepts or keywords in your question. |
|
| 2. FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION |
|
3. FIND BOOKS IN THE PELLISSIPPI ONLINE CATALOG or in EBSCO ebook and ebrary ebook collections
|
The Pellissippi Online Catalog searches both print books and E-books (electronic books that are available online from any computer). If you are only interested in E-books you may search EBSCO eBooks (formerly NetLibrary) and or ebrary directly. Use keyword searching for a narrow or complex search topic. Use subject searching for a broad subject. Print or write down the citation (author, title, etc.) and the location information (call number and location code). If the book is located at another campus, make arrangements to go to that campus or talk to the librarian to arrange an intercampus loan. Note if the book is a print book or an e-book. For print books note the items the circulation status.
When you pull the book from the shelf, scan the bibliography for additional sources, and watch for book-length bibliographies and annual reviews on your subject; they list citations to hundreds of books and articles in one subject area. Scan the books near the one you selected; these may also be relevant to your topic. |
|
| 4. USE Databases TO FIND PERIODICALS INFORMATION |
Use periodical databases to find citations to articles. Choose the periodical database best suited to your topic. Use the Library's federated search engine PSLibSearch to search many library databases at once. Use Academic OneFile database for general searches. It indexes more than 2000 periodicals with full-text coverage of over 1000 publications. Choose “more search options” if you want to limit you search to full-text publications which may be printed from your computer.
Use Subject Guides or Databases by Subject to locate indexes and abstracts for information in specific research areas. Print out, save to disk or write citations. If the article is not full text, use the citation information to locate the periodical you want by looking up the title of the periodical in the Pellissippi Library Online Catalog for holdings information. |
|
| 5. EVALUATE WHAT YOU HAVE FOUND |
|
| 6. USE A STANDARD FORMAT FOR YOUR BIBLIOGRAPHY |
|
|
|
 Peter Nerzak Contact InfoPhone: 865-694-6517
Office: ERC ER125
Pellissippi Campus Send Email |
 Kristen Bass Contact InfoOffice: ERC 137
Phone: (865) 694-6520 Send Email |
START EARLY: Give yourself time to make mistakes and/or locate material that may not be immediately available.
WORK FROM THE GENERAL TO THE SPECIFIC: Find background information first, then use more specific and recent sources.
WRITE DOWN WHAT YOU FIND AND WHERE YOU FOUND IT: Write out a complete citation for each source.
HAVING TROUBLE? Ask for help at the reference desk, or contact a librarian with Ask-A-Librarian.
|